Approved On: Feb. 20, 2020
Effective On: March 5, 2020
- A prosecution of an action alleging a violation of a Commission regulation may be commenced within the periods of limitation set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 5-1-109, as follows:
- 1 year after the commission of an offense that carries less than 9 points; or
- 3 years after the commission of an offense that carries 9 points or greater.
Certain exceptions as set forth in the Arkansas Code may extend the period of limitations in specific circumstances, including where the offense involves fraud or the accused cannot reasonably be located within Arkansas.
- For the purposes of this Code of Regulations, “conviction” or “convicted” means any of the following:
- An adjudication of guilt, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by a court of competent jurisdiction;
- Forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure the person’s appearance in court; or
- Payment of a fine, court cost, or court order, regardless of whether sentencing or imposition of sentencing has been deferred or suspended or the adjudication of guilt or the sentence is withheld by the court.